About Us


Our Mission

Truthout works to spark action by revealing systemic injustice and providing a platform for transformative ideas, through in-depth investigative reporting and critical analysis. With a powerful, independent voice, we will spur the revolution in consciousness and inspire the direct action that is necessary to save the planet and humanity.

Our Organization

Truthout is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to providing independent news and commentary on a daily basis. In order to remain free of bias and adhere to high editorial standards, we accept no advertising or corporate backing. Instead, we depend on our readers to support our work. All donations to Truthout are tax-deductible. For more information about our model and how we utilize our resources, please read our annual report (for 2011's annual report, see here). To donate to Truthout, click here.


Editor-in-Chief: Maya Schenwar
Publisher: Joe Macaré

Editorial Team

Managing Editor: Victoria Harper
Managing Editor, BuzzFlash: Mark Karlin
Content Relations Editor: Leslie Thatcher
Senior Editor
and Lead Columnist: William Rivers Pitt

Assistant Editors: Britney Schultz, Candice Bernd
Copy Editors: Patty Fitzgerald, Matt Surrusco
Staff Reporters: Dahr Jamail, Mike Ludwig, Candice Bernd
Content Review Intern: Adam Hudson
Production Fellow: Bethania Palma Markus
Production Intern: Samantha Borek

Production and Tech Team

Digital Liaison/Designer/Photo Editor: Jared Rodriguez
Designer/Photo Editor: Eileena Long
Community Liaison: Joseph Peterson

Social Media Intern: Rocio Hernandez
Joomla! Site Development and Maintenance: CNP Integrations

Development Team

Development Director: Ziggy West Jeffery
Administrative Manager: Annie Stoddard
Financial Administrator: Kendel Gordon

Development Fellow: Zia Swim

Contributing Writers

Dirk Adriaensens, Randall Amster, Angola 3 News, Ted Asregadoo, William Astore, Bill Ayers, Salvatore Babones, Eleanor Bader, Dean Baker, Tom Barry, Beverly Bell, Adam Bessie, Keane Bhatt Cynthia Boaz, Darwin Bond-Graham, Marion Brady, Jeremy Brecher, Ellen Brown, Shahid Buttar, Ira Chernus, Noam Chomsky, Jeff Cohen, Marjorie Cohn, Shamus Cooke, Jason Coppola, Michael Corcoran, Lawrence Davidson, Ellen Dannin, Any Dean, Anthony DiMaggio, Peter Dreier, Barry Eisler, Max Eternity, Laura Flanders, Margaret Flowers, Harriet Fraad, Henry A. Giroux, Arun Gupta, Ryan Harvey, Steve Horn, Tom H. Hastings, Adam Hudson, Patricia Hynes, Robert Jensen, David Johnson, Jeffrey Kaye, Kathy Kelly, Rania Khalek, Sam Knight, Andalusia Knoll, David Krieger, George Lakoff, Victoria Law, Dr. Wilmer J. Leon III, Jon Letman, Bethania Markus, Anne Elizabeth Moore, Nick Mottern, Bill Moyers, Robert Naiman, Mike Niman, John Pilger, Chronis Polychroniou, Gareth Porter, Bill Quigley, Jack Rasmus, William I. Robinson, Phil Rockstroh, Roberto Rodriguez, Richard Sale, Erika L. Sanchez, Christine Shearer, Evaggelos Vallianatos, Mark Weisbrot, Lawrence S. Wittner, Michael Winship, Ali Winston, Richard Wolff, Kevin Zeese, Stephen Zunes and more.

Board of Directors

President: Robert Naiman
Members: Henry A. Giroux, Lewis Gordon, Victoria Harper, Maya Schenwar

Board of Advisers

Valerie Anderson, Dean Baker, Beverly Bell, Scott Blau, Cynthia Boaz, Alan Breslauer, Rinaldo Brutoco, Maxon Buscher, Marjorie Cohn, Henry Crapo, Jodie Evans, Jaclyn Friedman, George Lakoff, Bryan Lockwood, Anne Elizabeth Moore, Richard Power, Robert Reich, Roberto Rodriguez, Mark Ruffalo, Graham and Mariesa Ryan, T.M. Scruggs, Mikey Weinstein and Richard D. Wolff.